- Home
- Grammar schools
- Plymouth
- Plymouth High School for Girls
Plymouth High School for Girls 11+ admissions
A girls' grammar school in Plymouth, for ages 11 to 18. What the school, the council and the test organisers have published about getting in, with the source and date beside every figure.
Which test
Quest Assessments
Plymouth girls 11+ English comprehension and mathematics. Confirmed for September 2028 entry.
Register for 2028 entry
19 April 2027 to 31 August 2027
Closes 31 August 2027 at 12:00 (UK time).
Test date, 2028 entry
18 September 2027
Real 11+ exam, English comprehension and mathematics
Score to qualify
Not found
Year 7 places
120
Entry year not stated
Next open event
None found
Which 11+ test?
- Test
- Plymouth girls 11+ English comprehension and mathematics
- Written by
- Quest Assessments
- Which entry year
- Confirmed for September 2028 entry.
- Source
- phsg.org · checked 27 September 2026
Test type: Quest Assessments.
Dates for September 2028 entry
For children in Year 5 now (2026 to 2027). Dates for past years are never rolled forward.
Registering for the test
- Registration
- 19 April 2027 to 31 August 2027Closes 31 August 2027 at 12:00 (UK time).
- Source
- phsg.org · checked 27 September 2026Joint PHSG/DHSG 2028 document; excludes separate optional paid mock registration. Conflicting older-year HTML rows are recorded in conflicts.json.
The test
- Real 11+ exam, English comprehension and mathematics
- 18 September 2027
- Source
- phsg.org · checked 27 September 2026Joint school 2028 timeline. Ignore its erroneous weekday aside for National Offer Day; this is the independently calendar-checked test date.
Open events
No open event dates found on the official pages we checked on 27 September 2026. See the page we checked.
Scores: qualifying and offered
A qualifying score puts a child in the running. It is not an offer. The lowest score offered shows how far down the list places went that year, and a child on that exact score did not always get a place.
Qualifying scores
No qualifying score found on the official pages we checked on 27 September 2026. See the page we checked.
Scores offered a place
No lowest score offered a place found on the official pages we checked on 27 September 2026. See the page we checked.
We do not predict a 2028 cut-off or convert raw marks into scores from this data. To see how age changes a standardised score, try the age standardisation calculator.
Catchment and distance
Many grammar schools give priority by where you live. Always check your address against the official policy or map.
No catchment or priority-area summary found on the official pages we checked on 27 September 2026. See the page we checked.
Furthest distance offered
No past distance cut-offs found on the official pages we checked on 27 September 2026. See the page we checked.
We never mix straight-line, road and walking distances, and a past furthest distance is not a promise for 2028.
Places and demand
How many Year 7 places there are, and how many children applied or sat the test, as published. We do not turn these into a chance of a place.
Places
| Entry | What | Figure | Applies to | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year not stated | Published admission number (Year 7 places) | 1201 | Not stated | phsg.org · checked 27 September 2026 |
- Source cycle unspecified where entry_year is null; not assumed to be 2028.
Applicants and test sitters
No applicant or test-sitter numbers found on the official pages we checked on 27 September 2026. See the page we checked.
Ofsted and GCSE results
Inspection and results describe the school, not your child's chances of getting in.
- Latest ungraded inspection
- 18 April 2024School remains Good
- Source
- assets.publishing.service.gov.uk · checked 27 September 2026Ofsted data as at 31 August 2026. Read the reports.
GCSE results (DfE)
| Year | Pupils | Attainment 8 | Grade 5+ in English and maths | EBacc average point score | Progress 8 | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2024 to 2025 | 103 | 65.5 | 90.3% | 5.93 | Not available | explore-education-statistics.service.gov.uk · checked 27 September 2026 |
| 2023 to 2024 | 116 | 65.3 | 90.5% | 5.82 | 0.24 | explore-education-statistics.service.gov.uk · checked 27 September 2026 |
| 2022 to 2023 | 115 | 65.6 | 88.7% | 6.03 | 0.19 | explore-education-statistics.service.gov.uk · checked 27 September 2026 |
The DfE did not publish Progress 8 for 2024 to 2025. Grammar schools select by ability, so high results partly reflect who is admitted.
Appeals
A refused school place can be appealed to an independent panel; follow the decision letter and admission authority procedure. An admission appeal is different from asking for a test to be re-marked or for a selection review.
We did not find a school-specific appeal deadline for September 2028 entry. The deadline will be in the offer letter.
How appeals work: gov.uk · checked 27 September 2026
Questions parents ask
What 11+ test does Plymouth High School for Girls use?
Quest Assessments. Plymouth girls 11+ English comprehension and mathematics. Confirmed for September 2028 entry. Source: phsg.org, checked 27 September 2026.
When is the Plymouth High School for Girls 11+ test for September 2028 entry?
Real 11+ exam, English comprehension and mathematics: 18 September 2027. Registration: 19 April 2027 to 31 August 2027. Source: phsg.org, checked 27 September 2026.
What score do you need for Plymouth High School for Girls?
No qualifying or cut-off scores found on the official pages we checked on 27 September 2026.
How many Year 7 places does Plymouth High School for Girls have?
Published admission number (Year 7 places): 120 (Entry year not stated). Source: phsg.org, checked 27 September 2026.
Can I appeal if my child is not offered a place at Plymouth High School for Girls?
Yes. A refused school place can be appealed to an independent panel; follow the decision letter and admission authority procedure. The deadline is in your offer letter. An appeal about a place is different from asking for a test to be re-marked or reviewed.
Sources and gaps
Every figure above links to where it came from. This is the full list, with the day we last read each one.
- ea-edubase-api-prod.azurewebsites.net · School name, address, age range and type (DfE Get Information about Schools) · checked 27 September 2026
- phsg.org · Test provider and format, 2028 registration dates, 2028 test dates · checked 27 September 2026
- phsg.org · Places, Published admission number (Year 7 places) · checked 27 September 2026
- assets.publishing.service.gov.uk · Ofsted inspections (as at 31 August 2026) · checked 27 September 2026
- explore-education-statistics.service.gov.uk · GCSE results 2024 to 2025 (DfE), GCSE results 2023 to 2024 (DfE), GCSE results 2022 to 2023 (DfE) · checked 27 September 2026
- gov.uk · How school admission appeals work · checked 27 September 2026
What we could not find
- Qualifying scores: not found on phsg.org · checked 27 September 2026
- Scores offered a place: not found on phsg.org · checked 27 September 2026
- Catchment or priority area: not found on phsg.org · checked 27 September 2026
- Distance offered: not found on phsg.org · checked 27 September 2026
- Applicants and test sitters: not found on phsg.org · checked 27 September 2026
- Open events: not found on phsg.org · checked 27 September 2026
Not found means we could not see it on the pages we checked. It does not mean the school has not published it. Spotted something we missed? The school's own page always wins.