Skip to content
  1. Home
  2. Grammar schools
  3. North Yorkshire
  4. Ripon Grammar School

Ripon Grammar School 11+ admissions

A mixed grammar school in North Yorkshire, for ages 11 to 18. What the school, the council and the test organisers have published about getting in, with the source and date beside every figure.

  • Boys and girls
  • North Yorkshire
  • GL Assessment

Checked 27 September 2026. Figures from past years show what happened then. They are not a forecast for 2028. Where we could not find something, the page says so rather than guessing.

Which 11+ test?

Test
Verbal skills and non-verbal/mathematics papers.
Written by
GL Assessment
Which entry year
The source does not say which entry year this applies to.
Source
ripongrammar.co.uk · checked 27 September 20262028 test arrangements are not confirmed by this current/historical source.

Test type: GL Assessment.

Dates for September 2028 entry

For children in Year 5 now (2026 to 2027). Dates for past years are never rolled forward.

Registering for the test

No 2028 registration dates found on the official pages we checked on 27 September 2026. See the page we checked.

The test

No 2028 test date found on the official pages we checked on 27 September 2026. See the page we checked.

Open events

Main school open evening
24 June 2027
Source
ripongrammar.co.uk · checked 27 September 2026Book through the school. Dates can change.

Scores: qualifying and offered

A qualifying score puts a child in the running. It is not an offer. The lowest score offered shows how far down the list places went that year, and a child on that exact score did not always get a place.

Qualifying scores

No qualifying score found on the official pages we checked on 27 September 2026. See the page we checked.

Scores offered a place

No lowest score offered a place found on the official pages we checked on 27 September 2026. See the page we checked.

We do not predict a 2028 cut-off or convert raw marks into scores from this data. To see how age changes a standardised score, try the age standardisation calculator.

Catchment and distance

Many grammar schools give priority by where you live. Always check your address against the official policy or map.

What the policy says
Catchment and boarding categories apply; unallocated places can go to qualifying out-of-catchment applicants.Read the full admissions policy: the summary leaves out other priorities.
Source
ripongrammar.co.uk · checked 27 September 2026

Furthest distance offered

No past distance cut-offs found on the official pages we checked on 27 September 2026. See the page we checked.

We never mix straight-line, road and walking distances, and a past furthest distance is not a promise for 2028.

Places and demand

How many Year 7 places there are, and how many children applied or sat the test, as published. We do not turn these into a chance of a place.

Places

Ripon Grammar School: Year 7 places and offers
EntryWhatFigureApplies toSource
Year not statedPublished admission number (Year 7 places)1171Not statedripongrammar.co.uk · checked 27 September 2026
  1. Source cycle unspecified where entry_year is null; not assumed to be 2028.

Applicants and test sitters

No applicant or test-sitter numbers found on the official pages we checked on 27 September 2026. See the page we checked.

Ofsted and GCSE results

Inspection and results describe the school, not your child's chances of getting in.

Last graded inspection
Good, 25 January 2023
Source
assets.publishing.service.gov.uk · checked 27 September 2026Ofsted data as at 31 August 2026. Read the reports.

GCSE results (DfE)

Ripon Grammar School: GCSE performance by year
YearPupilsAttainment 8Grade 5+ in English and mathsEBacc average point scoreProgress 8Source
2024 to 202512670.993.7%6.52Not availableexplore-education-statistics.service.gov.uk · checked 27 September 2026
2023 to 202412969.191.5%6.480.72explore-education-statistics.service.gov.uk · checked 27 September 2026
2022 to 202312269.891.8%6.550.77explore-education-statistics.service.gov.uk · checked 27 September 2026

The DfE did not publish Progress 8 for 2024 to 2025. Grammar schools select by ability, so high results partly reflect who is admitted.

Appeals

A refused school place can be appealed to an independent panel; follow the decision letter and admission authority procedure. An admission appeal is different from asking for a test to be re-marked or for a selection review.

We did not find a school-specific appeal deadline for September 2028 entry. The deadline will be in the offer letter.

How appeals work: gov.uk · checked 27 September 2026

Questions parents ask

What 11+ test does Ripon Grammar School use?

GL Assessment. Verbal skills and non-verbal/mathematics papers. The source does not say which entry year this applies to. Source: ripongrammar.co.uk, checked 27 September 2026.

When is the Ripon Grammar School 11+ test for September 2028 entry?

No 2028 test date found on the official pages we checked on 27 September 2026. We do not guess future dates from past years.

What score do you need for Ripon Grammar School?

No qualifying or cut-off scores found on the official pages we checked on 27 September 2026.

How many Year 7 places does Ripon Grammar School have?

Published admission number (Year 7 places): 117 (Entry year not stated). Source: ripongrammar.co.uk, checked 27 September 2026.

Does Ripon Grammar School have a catchment area?

Catchment and boarding categories apply; unallocated places can go to qualifying out-of-catchment applicants. Always check the full admissions policy before you apply.

Can I appeal if my child is not offered a place at Ripon Grammar School?

Yes. A refused school place can be appealed to an independent panel; follow the decision letter and admission authority procedure. The deadline is in your offer letter. An appeal about a place is different from asking for a test to be re-marked or reviewed.

Sources and gaps

Every figure above links to where it came from. This is the full list, with the day we last read each one.

  1. ea-edubase-api-prod.azurewebsites.net · School name, address, age range and type (DfE Get Information about Schools) · checked 27 September 2026
  2. ripongrammar.co.uk · Test provider and format, Catchment or priority area, Places, Published admission number (Year 7 places) · checked 27 September 2026
  3. ripongrammar.co.uk · Open events · checked 27 September 2026
  4. assets.publishing.service.gov.uk · Ofsted inspections (as at 31 August 2026) · checked 27 September 2026
  5. explore-education-statistics.service.gov.uk · GCSE results 2024 to 2025 (DfE), GCSE results 2023 to 2024 (DfE), GCSE results 2022 to 2023 (DfE) · checked 27 September 2026
  6. gov.uk · How school admission appeals work · checked 27 September 2026

What we could not find

Not found means we could not see it on the pages we checked. It does not mean the school has not published it. Spotted something we missed? The school's own page always wins.