Skip to content
  1. Home
  2. Grammar schools
  3. Buckinghamshire
  4. Dr Challoner's High School

Dr Challoner's High School 11+ admissions

A girls' grammar school in Buckinghamshire, for ages 11 to 18. What the school, the council and the test organisers have published about getting in, with the source and date beside every figure.

  • Girls
  • Buckinghamshire
  • GL Assessment

Checked 27 September 2026. Figures from past years show what happened then. They are not a forecast for 2028. Where we could not find something, the page says so rather than guessing.

Which 11+ test?

Test
Secondary Transfer Test
Written by
GL Assessment
Which entry year
Confirmed for September 2028 entry.
Source
thebucksgrammarschools.org · checked 27 September 2026Use only for the stated cycle. An undated/current provider is not a confirmed 2028 contract.

Test type: GL Assessment. Area test guide: The Secondary Transfer Test.

Dates for September 2028 entry

For children in Year 5 now (2026 to 2027). Dates for past years are never rolled forward.

Registering for the test

Registration
May to June 2027Children at Buckinghamshire state-funded primary schools are entered automatically; Milton Keynes is excluded.
Source
buckinghamshire.gov.uk · checked 27 September 2026Council publishes a period only. No exact day inferred.

The test

Secondary Transfer Test
early September 2027
Source
buckinghamshire.gov.uk · checked 27 September 2026Council says early September. Practice session is separate; centre overflow may have another session.

Open events

No open event dates found on the official pages we checked on 27 September 2026. See the page we checked.

Scores: qualifying and offered

A qualifying score puts a child in the running. It is not an offer. The lowest score offered shows how far down the list places went that year, and a child on that exact score did not always get a place.

Qualifying scores

Qualifying score
  1. Sept 2023121
  2. Sept 2024121
  3. Sept 2025121

STT score. Sources in the table below.

Dr Challoner's High School: qualifying scores by entry year
EntryWhatFigureApplies toSource
Sept 2025test 2024Qualifying score121 STT score1Not statedthebucksgrammarschools.org · checked 26 September 2026
Sept 2024test 2023Qualifying score121 STT score1Not statedthebucksgrammarschools.org · checked 26 September 2026
Sept 2023test 2022Qualifying score121 STT score1Not statedthebucksgrammarschools.org · checked 26 September 2026
  1. Not a score-ranked offer cutoff; selection review and school oversubscription rules are separate.

Scores offered a place

No lowest score offered a place found on the official pages we checked on 27 September 2026. See the page we checked.

We do not predict a 2028 cut-off or convert raw marks into scores from this data. To see how age changes a standardised score, try the age standardisation calculator.

Catchment and distance

Many grammar schools give priority by where you live. Always check your address against the official policy or map.

What the policy says
School publishes a catchment/priority-area map or links its official checker. Boundary has not been transcribed.Official map required: boundary not transcribed.
Official map or policy
challonershigh.com
Source
challonershigh.com · checked 27 September 2026

Furthest distance offered

No past distance cut-offs found on the official pages we checked on 27 September 2026. See the page we checked.

We never mix straight-line, road and walking distances, and a past furthest distance is not a promise for 2028.

Places and demand

How many Year 7 places there are, and how many children applied or sat the test, as published. We do not turn these into a chance of a place.

Places

Dr Challoner's High School: Year 7 places and offers
EntryWhatFigureApplies toSource
Sept 2026test 2025Places allocated, Buckinghamshire residentsNational Offer Day185Not statedthebucksgrammarschools.org · checked 26 September 2026 as at 2 March 2026
Sept 2026test 2025Places allocated, all childrenNational Offer Day189Not statedthebucksgrammarschools.org · checked 26 September 2026 as at 2 March 2026
Sept 2025test 2024Places allocated, Buckinghamshire residentsFinal autumn allocations174Not statedthebucksgrammarschools.org · checked 26 September 2026 as at 7 October 2025
Sept 2025test 2024Places allocated, all childrenFinal autumn allocations190Not statedthebucksgrammarschools.org · checked 26 September 2026 as at 7 October 2025

Applicants and test sitters

No applicant or test-sitter numbers found on the official pages we checked on 27 September 2026. See the page we checked.

Ofsted and GCSE results

Inspection and results describe the school, not your child's chances of getting in.

Last graded inspection
Outstanding, 21 November 2023
Source
assets.publishing.service.gov.uk · checked 27 September 2026Ofsted data as at 31 August 2026. Read the reports.

GCSE results (DfE)

Dr Challoner's High School: GCSE performance by year
YearPupilsAttainment 8Grade 5+ in English and mathsEBacc average point scoreProgress 8Source
2024 to 202518379.199.5%7.74Not availableexplore-education-statistics.service.gov.uk · checked 27 September 2026
2023 to 202418078.299.4%7.671.11explore-education-statistics.service.gov.uk · checked 27 September 2026
2022 to 202318378.598.9%7.661.08explore-education-statistics.service.gov.uk · checked 27 September 2026

The DfE did not publish Progress 8 for 2024 to 2025. Grammar schools select by ability, so high results partly reflect who is admitted.

Appeals

A refused school place can be appealed to an independent panel; follow the decision letter and admission authority procedure. An admission appeal is different from asking for a test to be re-marked or for a selection review.

We did not find a school-specific appeal deadline for September 2028 entry. The deadline will be in the offer letter.

How appeals work: gov.uk · checked 27 September 2026

Questions parents ask

What 11+ test does Dr Challoner's High School use?

GL Assessment. Secondary Transfer Test. Confirmed for September 2028 entry. Source: thebucksgrammarschools.org, checked 27 September 2026.

When is the Dr Challoner's High School 11+ test for September 2028 entry?

Secondary Transfer Test: early September 2027. Registration: May to June 2027. Source: buckinghamshire.gov.uk, checked 27 September 2026.

What score do you need for Dr Challoner's High School?

Qualifying score for September 2025 entry: 121 STT score. Past scores do not predict the 2028 score, and a score on the boundary did not always get a place.

How many Year 7 places does Dr Challoner's High School have?

Places allocated, Buckinghamshire residents: 185 (September 2026 entry, National Offer Day). Source: thebucksgrammarschools.org, checked 26 September 2026.

Does Dr Challoner's High School have a catchment area?

School publishes a catchment/priority-area map or links its official checker. Boundary has not been transcribed. Always check the full admissions policy before you apply.

Can I appeal if my child is not offered a place at Dr Challoner's High School?

Yes. A refused school place can be appealed to an independent panel; follow the decision letter and admission authority procedure. The deadline is in your offer letter. An appeal about a place is different from asking for a test to be re-marked or reviewed.

Sources and gaps

Every figure above links to where it came from. This is the full list, with the day we last read each one.

  1. ea-edubase-api-prod.azurewebsites.net · School name, address, age range and type (DfE Get Information about Schools) · checked 27 September 2026
  2. thebucksgrammarschools.org · Test provider and format · checked 27 September 2026
  3. buckinghamshire.gov.uk · 2028 registration dates, 2028 test dates · checked 27 September 2026
  4. thebucksgrammarschools.org · Qualifying scores, Qualifying score · checked 26 September 2026
  5. challonershigh.com · Catchment or priority area · checked 27 September 2026
  6. thebucksgrammarschools.org · Places, Places allocated, Buckinghamshire residents, Places allocated, all children · checked 26 September 2026
  7. thebucksgrammarschools.org · Qualifying score · checked 26 September 2026
  8. thebucksgrammarschools.org · Qualifying score · checked 26 September 2026
  9. thebucksgrammarschools.org · Places allocated, Buckinghamshire residents, Places allocated, all children · checked 26 September 2026
  10. assets.publishing.service.gov.uk · Ofsted inspections (as at 31 August 2026) · checked 27 September 2026
  11. explore-education-statistics.service.gov.uk · GCSE results 2024 to 2025 (DfE), GCSE results 2023 to 2024 (DfE), GCSE results 2022 to 2023 (DfE) · checked 27 September 2026
  12. gov.uk · How school admission appeals work · checked 27 September 2026

What we could not find

Not found means we could not see it on the pages we checked. It does not mean the school has not published it. Spotted something we missed? The school's own page always wins.