- Home
- Grammar schools
- Buckinghamshire
- The Royal Grammar School, High Wycombe
The Royal Grammar School, High Wycombe 11+ admissions
A boys' grammar school in Buckinghamshire, for ages 11 to 18. What the school, the council and the test organisers have published about getting in, with the source and date beside every figure.
Which test
GL Assessment
Secondary Transfer Test. Confirmed for September 2028 entry.
Source: thebucksgrammarschools.org, 27 Sep 2026Details
Register for 2028 entry
May to June 2027
Children at Buckinghamshire state-funded primary schools are entered automatically; Milton Keynes is excluded.
Source: buckinghamshire.gov.uk, 27 Sep 2026Details
Test date, 2028 entry
early September 2027
Secondary Transfer Test
Source: buckinghamshire.gov.uk, 27 Sep 2026Details
Score to qualify
121
STT score. September 2025 entry
Source: thebucksgrammarschools.org, 26 Sep 2026Details
Places allocated, Buckinghamshire residents
157
September 2026 entry, National Offer Day
Source: thebucksgrammarschools.org, 26 Sep 2026Details
Next open event
None found
Which 11+ test?
- Test
- Secondary Transfer Test
- Written by
- GL Assessment
- Which entry year
- Confirmed for September 2028 entry.
- Source
- thebucksgrammarschools.org · checked 27 September 2026Use only for the stated cycle. An undated/current provider is not a confirmed 2028 contract.
Test type: GL Assessment. Area test guide: The Secondary Transfer Test.
Dates for September 2028 entry
For children in Year 5 now (2026 to 2027). Dates for past years are never rolled forward.
Registering for the test
- Registration
- May to June 2027Children at Buckinghamshire state-funded primary schools are entered automatically; Milton Keynes is excluded.
- Source
- buckinghamshire.gov.uk · checked 27 September 2026Council publishes a period only. No exact day inferred.
The test
- Secondary Transfer Test
- early September 2027
- Source
- buckinghamshire.gov.uk · checked 27 September 2026Council says early September. Practice session is separate; centre overflow may have another session.
Open events
No open event dates found on the official pages we checked on 27 September 2026. See the page we checked.
Scores: qualifying and offered
A qualifying score puts a child in the running. It is not an offer. The lowest score offered shows how far down the list places went that year, and a child on that exact score did not always get a place.
Qualifying scores
- Sept 2023121
- Sept 2024121
- Sept 2025121
STT score. Sources in the table below.
| Entry | What | Figure | Applies to | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sept 2025test 2024 | Qualifying score | 121 STT score1 | Not stated | thebucksgrammarschools.org · checked 26 September 2026 |
| Sept 2024test 2023 | Qualifying score | 121 STT score1 | Not stated | thebucksgrammarschools.org · checked 26 September 2026 |
| Sept 2023test 2022 | Qualifying score | 121 STT score1 | Not stated | thebucksgrammarschools.org · checked 26 September 2026 |
- Not a score-ranked offer cutoff; selection review and school oversubscription rules are separate.
Scores offered a place
No lowest score offered a place found on the official pages we checked on 27 September 2026. See the page we checked.
We do not predict a 2028 cut-off or convert raw marks into scores from this data. To see how age changes a standardised score, try the age standardisation calculator.
Catchment and distance
Many grammar schools give priority by where you live. Always check your address against the official policy or map.
- What the policy says
- School publishes a catchment/priority-area map or links its official checker. Boundary has not been transcribed.Official map required: boundary not transcribed.
- Official map or policy
- rgshw.com
- Source
- rgshw.com · checked 27 September 2026
Furthest distance offered
No past distance cut-offs found on the official pages we checked on 27 September 2026. See the page we checked.
We never mix straight-line, road and walking distances, and a past furthest distance is not a promise for 2028.
Places and demand
How many Year 7 places there are, and how many children applied or sat the test, as published. We do not turn these into a chance of a place.
Places
| Entry | What | Figure | Applies to | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sept 2026test 2025 | Places allocated, Buckinghamshire residentsNational Offer Day | 157 | Not stated | thebucksgrammarschools.org · checked 26 September 2026 as at 2 March 2026 |
| Sept 2026test 2025 | Places allocated, all childrenNational Offer Day | 182 | Not stated | thebucksgrammarschools.org · checked 26 September 2026 as at 2 March 2026 |
| Sept 2025test 2024 | Places allocated, Buckinghamshire residentsFinal autumn allocations | 181 | Not stated | thebucksgrammarschools.org · checked 26 September 2026 as at 7 October 2025 |
| Sept 2025test 2024 | Places allocated, all childrenFinal autumn allocations | 187 | Not stated | thebucksgrammarschools.org · checked 26 September 2026 as at 7 October 2025 |
Applicants and test sitters
No applicant or test-sitter numbers found on the official pages we checked on 27 September 2026. See the page we checked.
Ofsted and GCSE results
Inspection and results describe the school, not your child's chances of getting in.
- Last graded inspection
- Good, 9 October 2019
- Latest ungraded inspection
- 26 February 2025Improved significantly
- Source
- assets.publishing.service.gov.uk · checked 27 September 2026Ofsted data as at 31 August 2026. Read the reports.
GCSE results (DfE)
| Year | Pupils | Attainment 8 | Grade 5+ in English and maths | EBacc average point score | Progress 8 | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2024 to 2025 | 207 | 73.9 | 97.6% | 7.18 | Not available | explore-education-statistics.service.gov.uk · checked 27 September 2026 |
| 2023 to 2024 | 202 | 75.1 | 98.5% | 7.23 | 1.13 | explore-education-statistics.service.gov.uk · checked 27 September 2026 |
| 2022 to 2023 | 203 | 76 | 98.5% | 7.39 | 0.96 | explore-education-statistics.service.gov.uk · checked 27 September 2026 |
The DfE did not publish Progress 8 for 2024 to 2025. Grammar schools select by ability, so high results partly reflect who is admitted.
Appeals
A refused school place can be appealed to an independent panel; follow the decision letter and admission authority procedure. An admission appeal is different from asking for a test to be re-marked or for a selection review.
We did not find a school-specific appeal deadline for September 2028 entry. The deadline will be in the offer letter.
How appeals work: gov.uk · checked 27 September 2026
Questions parents ask
What 11+ test does The Royal Grammar School, High Wycombe use?
GL Assessment. Secondary Transfer Test. Confirmed for September 2028 entry. Source: thebucksgrammarschools.org, checked 27 September 2026.
When is the The Royal Grammar School, High Wycombe 11+ test for September 2028 entry?
Secondary Transfer Test: early September 2027. Registration: May to June 2027. Source: buckinghamshire.gov.uk, checked 27 September 2026.
What score do you need for The Royal Grammar School, High Wycombe?
Qualifying score for September 2025 entry: 121 STT score. Past scores do not predict the 2028 score, and a score on the boundary did not always get a place.
How many Year 7 places does The Royal Grammar School, High Wycombe have?
Places allocated, Buckinghamshire residents: 157 (September 2026 entry, National Offer Day). Source: thebucksgrammarschools.org, checked 26 September 2026.
Does The Royal Grammar School, High Wycombe have a catchment area?
School publishes a catchment/priority-area map or links its official checker. Boundary has not been transcribed. Always check the full admissions policy before you apply.
Can I appeal if my child is not offered a place at The Royal Grammar School, High Wycombe?
Yes. A refused school place can be appealed to an independent panel; follow the decision letter and admission authority procedure. The deadline is in your offer letter. An appeal about a place is different from asking for a test to be re-marked or reviewed.
Sources and gaps
Every figure above links to where it came from. This is the full list, with the day we last read each one.
- ea-edubase-api-prod.azurewebsites.net · School name, address, age range and type (DfE Get Information about Schools) · checked 27 September 2026
- thebucksgrammarschools.org · Test provider and format · checked 27 September 2026
- buckinghamshire.gov.uk · 2028 registration dates, 2028 test dates · checked 27 September 2026
- thebucksgrammarschools.org · Qualifying scores, Qualifying score · checked 26 September 2026
- rgshw.com · Catchment or priority area · checked 27 September 2026
- thebucksgrammarschools.org · Places, Places allocated, Buckinghamshire residents, Places allocated, all children · checked 26 September 2026
- thebucksgrammarschools.org · Qualifying score · checked 26 September 2026
- thebucksgrammarschools.org · Qualifying score · checked 26 September 2026
- thebucksgrammarschools.org · Places allocated, Buckinghamshire residents, Places allocated, all children · checked 26 September 2026
- assets.publishing.service.gov.uk · Ofsted inspections (as at 31 August 2026) · checked 27 September 2026
- explore-education-statistics.service.gov.uk · GCSE results 2024 to 2025 (DfE), GCSE results 2023 to 2024 (DfE), GCSE results 2022 to 2023 (DfE) · checked 27 September 2026
- gov.uk · How school admission appeals work · checked 27 September 2026
What we could not find
- Scores offered a place: not found on rgshw.com · checked 27 September 2026
- Distance offered: not found on rgshw.com · checked 27 September 2026
- Applicants and test sitters: not found on rgshw.com · checked 27 September 2026
- Open events: not found on rgshw.com · checked 27 September 2026
Not found means we could not see it on the pages we checked. It does not mean the school has not published it. Spotted something we missed? The school's own page always wins.